< Back to Study China
Peking University
Home > News and Events

PKU alumnus Yang Qiang elected as new fellow of two renowned Canadian institutions

facebook twitter linkedin
pku.edu.cn | Updated: Nov 09, 2021

Peking University (PKU) Alumnus Yang Qiang, currently a Chair Professor of the department of Computer Science and Engineering at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), was elected as a new fellow of the year 2021 of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) and the Royal Society of Canada (RSC).

Yang is recognized as a world leader and pioneer in the artificial intelligence fields of transfer learning and federated learning, as well as automated planning and case-based reasoning. He has developed an open source industrial-grade platform for users and businesses alike in inclusive finance, health and e-commerce.

Yang received his B.Sc. degree in Astrophysics from PKU in 1982. Covering subjects including artificial intelligence and machine learning, especially transfer learning and federated machine learning, Yang’s research has significant contributions to related fields of data mining engineering and large-scale artificial intelligence, raising the level of public knowledge and recognition of these areas.

The CAE announced a total of 52 new fellows of the year 2021 in June, among which there are 13 ethnic Chinese and two international fellows. Nominated and elected by peers, the CAE fellowship recognizes academics who provide professional advice for think tanks in national matters of engineering concern. Due to restrictions caused by the pandemic, the nomination was completed virtually in June, whilst the inauguration ceremony was postponed till October 2021.

The 2021 RSC fellowship was announced in September, when Yang was elected as one of four Chinese scholars among 89 new fellows. The RSC praises Yang’s work for having major impact on industry and society by applying artificial intelligence and data analytic methods in preserving privacy and security. Founded in 1882, RSC selects distinguished academics in the fields of natural sciences and applied sciences, including Nobel Prize winners.